Chaos Lord on Slaaneshi Steed (aka the Titty Worm)

Posted: August 9, 2011 in Wargaming

Today’s entry marks the completion of The Lion riding the infamous Booby Worm.  I got this model done in about two hours.  It is 100% dry brushed.

The worm itself was fairly easy.  It took me about 45 minutes.  To start, I primed it Liche Purple and let it dry.  Once that was finished I went ahead and mixed one part purple to one part white for a lavender effect and dry brushed that on.  After that was finished I drybrushed white for highlight, and did the recesses and other body parts dark purple.

The eyes were simply white points with black pupils, and the tongue I hit with Cygnar Blue before highlighting with white.

The armor was silver as were the chains.  I wanted a good contrast to the purple flesh and also the Lion wears gold armor, and did not want any brass, bronze, or gold on the boob worm to help set it apart.


The lord on top was also fairly easy.  I started with the red cloak, using the red foundation from Citadel paints to give a nice wine red look.  After that I took bronze to the lord’s armor and to his weapon.  I hit the end of his polearm with metal as I did with his shield, and picked his chainmail out with metal as well.

Once that was finished I went ahead and applied a gold finish to the armor and then edged it with mithril silver.  The blade of the polearm I did in black lightning over black metal.  Afterwards I hit the details… trimming the cloak with white and applying a few logos to the fabric.

I finished with the gems and then matte coated the whole model for protection.  Once dry, I hit the gems, parts of cloth, and weapons and armor with a shiny gloss to help it stand out better.

My next project involves the Storm of Magic fulcrums as well as my chosen warriors…

Leave a Reply

